3 Constants

Hey Everyone!

My name is Rosemary Le (‘13). Life at Brown is crazy, but now that the year is almost over, I have found that there are three constants I can expect every day.

Constant #1: I will check Google Calendar– a few times a day, if not every other minute.  It’s a lifesaver, because sometimes I forget I have to shower if I don’t. (kidding. KIDDING!) But in all seriousness, I check it so I can keep track of where I need to be. Brown presents its students with so many opportunities I feel it’s a serious waste of cash if I don’t take advantage of as much as I can. In any given week, there are a plethora of lectures, screenings, performances, and free food.

Here’s a sample week:

Your browser may not support display of this image.

Granted, it was one of my busier weeks, but it was also one of the best weeks of my life.

Notice how some things overlap—for example, The Cook (a really good play about the Cuban Revolution that my friend had a major part in), and the Divine Rhythm Show (a mad cool show in which the performers execute percussive rhythms using their bodies). I was pretty torn about which I should go to, since both were Saturday night from 8-9:30, but in the end I didn’t go to either!! I think I worked on math homework instead. This sounds sad, but it really wasn’t. I love math and plan to concentrate in applied math, which is why I assigned pink (my favorite color) to my math class.

Also notice the big blocks of red. I dance with Attitude Dance Company (a multi-style and entirely self-choreographed dance company, with genres ranging from lyrical to hip-hop, Broadway to Chinese folk-dancing). April is our busiest month because our Annual Spring Show is right around the corner. Speaking of which, here are some pictures from our 6th Annual Show:


If you like what you see, come audition for us! We hold Fall and Spring auditions every year, and no dance experience is necessary! But I digress.

Constant #2: I will wave to people. Not to generalize or anything, but EVERYONE at Brown is friendly. This means people I know wave to me, and sometimes, people I don’t know wave to me. Why do strangers wave to me? Because everyone is friendly! Actually, that’s only part of the reason. It’s also because I am an identical twin, and people sometimes mistaken me for my twin sister, Michelle! How do I feel about my twin sister?

This picture pretty much sums up our relationship:

Your browser may not support display of this image.

She’s a big bully.

Ahahaha! I kid AGAIN! We’re actually biffles (or bffl’s, or best friends for life).

Your browser may not support display of this image.

Constant #3: I will marvel at how lucky I am to be here, at Brown, and wonder if I could have wound up at a school that was a better match for me. (Negative). There have been days when I am so happy, I tell myself that I won’t question for a second if everything I love is taken away from me, just because there has to be some limit to how much happiness a person feels, right? (This is starting to sound a bit dramatic, so I’ll stop). But in all seriousness, there is something about Brown—whether it’s the open curriculum that lets me take any class I want outside of my concentration, or the amazing faculty and students I interact with everyday, or the sense of community and acceptance– that makes me euphorically happy. And it’s not just me—Brown students are rated the nation’s happiest students! It’s true, I read it on Wikipedia. (And just for the record– if it’s not on Wikipedia, it’s not true.) This feeling particularly escalates during the spring, when the cherry blossoms bloom and all is good.

This entry was posted in brown in color and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

